So? How Was Your January 1st? Did You Make Any Progress?

Most importantly of all: Did you begin?

Happy New Year, everyone!

I just wanted to check in quickly and see how you were doing with your 2023 goals and resolutions so far.

This is not going to be a long post, but I think it’s important to set the pace for the new year. Set the pace for yourself, I mean.

Some of us charge out of the gate, and just go for it, expending a ton of energy in the early weeks of the new year, only to sort of flame out in February or slow down once the enthusiasm of January 1st and the promises of new beginnings start to fade.

Others have the opposite problem.

They have all these big plans for what they’re going to do on January 1st, but once it gets here and becomes today…well, they’re tired, maybe hungover, and they never really get going.

I don’t either fate to befall you, and I want to make sure I tell you again that I am here in support of your efforts to change and improve, and I will be here all year long helping you to reach new heights in 2023.

We can do it - we can make it - but we’re going to have to stick together, and we’re going to have to look out for one another.

I supported you last year, I support you this year, and I’m not going to let you fall behind. We’re going to win together.

Another thing I wanted to mention, though, is that even if you did fall short on what you said or thought that January 1st was going to be, that’s still no reason to beat yourself up for it.

You can begin now, on January 2nd, or whenever you’re reading this.

Every day can be a new beginning, but you just have to start. As one of my favorite poets, Goethe, said:

“Whatever you can do or dream you can, begin it;

Boldness has genius, power, and magic in it.”

So start. Start new every single day, and build upon whatever progress you were able to make the day before.

Every day matters, but still, it’s only one day, which is just another one of those “life contradictions” we all need to navigate!

Personally, I fight and push and stretch each and every day in an effort to get the absolute most I can out of that day, but even on those days I fall short, I commit to getting right back after it tomorrow.

So take it one day at a time. Make today great, then make January 2nd great, and then make the next day great. We win big by stringing a bunch of little victories together.

And by the time next year rolls around?

We will have made so much progress here together at The Competitive Advantage that we will hardly recognize our former selves.

All the best,

Matt Karamazov

P.S. Tomorrow, I’ll be releasing a video on YouTube about my insane 2023 reading challenge, but I’ll let you guys know about it here as well.

Books gave me the life I have now, and I love inspiring others to get up and read too (well, sit down and read haha). This year is gonna be one for the books!

Speaking of which, I also just released my book breakdown of The Science of Money, by Brian Tracy, on the Stairway to Wisdom. It’s going behind the paywall soon, but right now you can read the whole thing for free!